Dear Tapp TV: How about a Little Courtesy or Smile for Your Subscribers?

Tapp Brothers

Jeff Gaspin and Jon Klein

By Isabel Matos

Congratulations to Jeff Gaspin and Jon Klein for their entrepreneurial achievements over the years and for being pioneers in Subscription Television:

Jeff Gaspin and Jon Klein first met 20 years ago while pioneering reality television at NBC and CBS, respectively. They were ahead of the curve then, and they’ve stayed there – helping to usher in the era of online video in the 2000’s, and now turning their sights to media’s next frontier: subscription television.

As the readers and viewers may know, I expressed my interest in promoting the Sarah Palin Channel in Spanish here and here. I did not just do SPC clips, however. I did other news items which took an eternity to create, translate, edit and publish. I stated clearly it was all exploratory in nature. This allowed for a margin of error -not in the translations- but the actual publication themselves. I had a concern from the start about copyright.  No one could guarantee one way or another if what I was doing would be okay. It was 50-50, in fact, so I went ahead and took a chance. Every time I posted a clip, people asked about the Sarah Palin Channel. I know I motivated at least a handful to sign up. But Tapp does not seem to want to generate more excitement. Celebrity is a magic bullet that will turn a profit for them without our help. Why get involved? It’s oh so time-consuming.

Tapp must not value my meager contributions for its promotional success either. After waiting one entire month for a reply (see the email I sent to Joanne at Tapp TV on September 29th at the bottom of this page), I decided to post the following on my timeline for the enthusiasts who supported my effort and idea:

Here’s a disappointing update on the Spanish clips. The video that received 713 views got pulled for copyright violation. I wrote the company Tapp who is not so nice customer service-wise and asked to make one exception since it was in part to help promote Sarah’s message and the channel. They did not even have the courtesy to reply, to which I say pthhh. Is a reply too much to ask for a year subscriber? It is a blessing in disguise because each one of those videos in Spanish were absolutely time consuming. 8 hours per minute is what I started out with since I was new to it and trimmed it down to 4 for the last ones. Not bad. I don’t care about the copyright strike either. I took a chance doing something awesome which I loved doing and hit a bump on the road. No big deal. I still know Spanish and I can still translate it’s just not feasible to come up with the script, the video, the translation and the editing.

Spanish translations can be done on just about anything. The possibilities are limitless. There are politicians and personalities in politics who would appreciate my services for free or occasional pay, but it will not be done for the most needed reasons.. to help Sarah Palin get her message out to voters who happen to be bilingual and who have been ignored by the leaders in the party because their message is stale, flat and wrong.  A warning on your part would have sufficed.  By the way, if you use my idea in the future, does that mean that I should be notified?

I’m not the only one disappointed in Tapp’s bad customer service by the way. I would not have taken the trouble to write the article if I was. It is known by now.

Email sent to Joanne@TappTV.com

To: joanne@tapptv.com
From:  isabel matos (………@…mail.com)
Sent: Mon 9/29/14 10:55 PM
To: joanne@tapptv.com (joanne@tapptv.com)

Dear Joanne,
Hello. My name is Isabel. I am a supporter of Governor Sarah Palin. I was inspired shortly after Sarah Palin Channel was launched, to do a voice-over of a clip that was pulled from YouTube today. I agreed to what was explained but just wanted to email you directly first to communicate why the video, titled: Sarah Palin’s Conservative Response to Elizabeth Warren’s Progressive Tenets, was done.
The video showcases the Governor’s debating skills. She lays out our conservative beliefs/tenets in a very attractive way. Bilingual voters who understand English but prefer watching and/or reading in Spanish make up a huge portion of the voting population. Millions are denied good information every day as filter/s of the Spanish-speaking media (written and on television) are just as bad if not worse than our liberal mainstream media. We know the story: they either do not report what is going on in American politics, are disparaging or dismissive of the conservative movement like the Tea Party or its leaders like Sarah Palin, who is still mocked with the tired old jokes. It’s there. Again, many are deprived of good information because of the language barrier and the filters described above.
As for the dubbing-it is all mine. I am asking permission for that particular video to stay up.  It was done in a promotional spirit both for her channel and as part of an outreach to those voters who happen to be legal immigrants who are bilingual but enjoy their news in Spanish. Again, the Spanish-speaking media does not do its job. This was a quality translation that did not cost anyone to have it done (which is fine). I will in the future not use SPC material if there is no other way to work this out -you have my word- but I am making a request for this particular video which has already been done and which took a lot of work to do, to be an exception, just in this case.
None of us get paid to do all that we do. We are tirelessly doing the best we can to get the message out and time is running out. My colleagues considered this would be acceptable (I did ask before going on my own..) as it was helpful in the promotion of the channel.
It would be helpful there was a validation of the translation work done, but I am aware now of the infringement issue. I wish this could be used to spread and promote SPC in a special way. If there is anything we can do to keep that video up I would appreciate it much.
Thank you.
Isabel Matos
**********
 [Updated on 10/30 at 8:40 p.m. – This proves my point: Jeb Bush promises immigration reform to a Spanish audience.] http://www.breitbart.com/InstaBlog/2014/10/30/Jeb-Bush-Promises-GOP-Immigration-Reform-To-Spanish-Speaking-Media/

Leave a comment

Filed under In The News, Politics, sarah palin, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

